Tennessee Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Tennessee marriage laws require couples wishing to marry in Tennessee to obtain a valid marriage license prior to the wedding ceremony. Age restrictions do apply; minors must obtain parental consent before getting a marriage license, and those under 16 must also get a court order. Previously divorced individuals must present a certified copy of the divorce decree. The details on Tennessee marriage laws are set forth below.


Tennessee Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must have parental consent to marry in Tennessee. Minors younger than 16 must get a court order in addition to parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Tennessee without obtaining parental consent.


Tennessee Common Law Marriage

The state of Tennessee does not recognize common law marriages.


Tennessee Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Driver’s license or certified birth certificate, and social security number.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Tennessee unless one party is incarcerated or has a disability that prevents them from being present for the application process.
  • Previous Marriages:  Divorced individuals must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree.
  • Length of License:  30 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Vary by county, but generally $90-$100.
  • Authorized Tennessee Officiants: Any ordained minister, judge, county clerk, or mayor.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption