Vermont Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Vermont marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid Vermont marriage license before tying the knot. Age restraints do apply, as minors cannot marry without parental consent. Vermont does not recognize common law marriages. The specifics of Vermont marriage laws are detailed below.


Vermont Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Vermont only by first obtaining parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older do not need parental consent to marry in Vermont.


Vermont Common Law Marriage

Vermont does not recognize common law marriages.


Vermont Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Valid photo identification and a certified copy of birth certificate.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Vermont. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals do not need to present any certified documentation of the end of the marriage. They merely need to wait until the divorce has been finalized.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Generally $45.
  • Authorized Vermont Officiants:  Judges, justices of the peace, and any ordained minister.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption