Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
An Indiana marriage requires obtaining a valid Indiana marriage license. The requirements for a marriage license are set forth below. Minors must adhere to certain parental consent and court petition guidelines. In addition, Indiana does not recognize common law marriages.
Indiana Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 17 year-olds must have both parents present and consenting at the application in order to marry in Indiana. 15 and 16 year-olds must also obtain court approval. There is a fee associated with this court petition, and it will not be refunded even if the judge denies the petition.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Indiana without parental consent.
Indiana Common Law Marriage
Indiana does not recognize common law marriages.
Indiana Marriage License
- Residency: No requirement that applicants reside in Indiana, but Indiana residents must apply in the county in which they reside.
- Identification Required: Individuals must present a valid driver’s license or other form of photo ID showing their current address and date of birth. If you are under 30, bringing a certified copy of your birth certificate is also a good idea.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in Indiana. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals should be prepared to give information on the dates and locations those marriages ended (i.e. when divorce or death occurred). Check with the county you are intending to apply in, as some require certified copies of a divorce decree or death certificate, especially if either occurred within the last two years.
- Length of License: 60 days.
- Fees: Indiana residents pay $18. Non-residents pay $60. Only cash accepted.
- Authorized Indiana Officiants: Judges, magistrates, clerks of circuit courts, or any member of the clergy.