Kansas Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Kansas marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid Kansas marriage license before getting married. The specifics of such marriage licenses are set forth below, including the law on parental consent for minors. Kansas also recognizes common law marriages, one of the few states that still does. Read on for more information on what constitutes a common law marriage in Kansas.


Kansas Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Any minor between 15 and 17 must provide written, notarized consent of both parents, or consent of one parent as well as the approval of a district court judge. 15 is the minimum age requirement to get married in Kansas.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Kansas without any parental consent.


Kansas Common Law Marriage

Kansas does recognize common law marriages. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age and satisfy the following three requirements: (1) capacity to marry, (2) a present marriage agreement, and (3) holding out to the public as husband and wife.


Kansas Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Individuals must present a valid photo ID and social security card.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Kansas. However, both parties need not be present for the application process.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide information on when those marriages ended. Dates and locations are required.
  • Length of License:  6 months.
  • Fees:  $75 total ($50 fee plus $25 court surcharge).
  • Authorized Kansas Officiants:  Judges (active or retired) or a currently ordained clergyman.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption