What are the penalties for an unlicensed driver involved in an accident?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the penalties for an unlicensed driver involved in an accident?

My 15 year old daughter sneaked out, took my car, and wreked into another vehicle. There were no drugs/alcohol involved and, as far as we know, there were no injuries. She was cited for FTYROW-left turn and Unlicensed Driver. What penalties/problems are we facing? We are in the state of TX.

Asked on June 1, 2009 under Accident Law, Texas

Answers:

L.M., Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 12 years ago | Contributor

Being cited for a first time offense of driving without a license in TX will have a fine of up to $200. Texas law says that if you continue to drive without a license and get cited the penalties get more severe for instance being convicted for a third time of this offense can get you a fine of up to $500 and confinement in the county jail for not less than 72 hours or more than six months.

The state of Texas will collect more money above the fine amount though. Texas has a Driver Responsibility Program which assesses fees for a variety of driving-related offenses. With this assessment program surcharges are due every year for three years for certain convictions of Texas laws. Driving without a valid license comes with a surcharge amount of $100 per year.

The exact amount of the fine would be up to the judge in jurisdiction where the ticket was received for driving without a valid license. So if you were cited for driving without a valid license in Texas you should contact the court listed on the ticket to find out what the total cost of the ticket will be for operating a car as an unlicensed driver. The court can also tell you what other penalties you may be facing at your court date besides the fine.

I would be concerned, too, about whether or not your insurance will cover the damages to the other vehicle given that your daughter was unlicensed and had no permission to drive your car.  Better speak to the adjuster about that.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption