Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Alaska marriage laws allow couples to be married only with a valid marriage license. Age requirements and certain documentation requirements may apply to certain individuals, particularly minors and those who have been recently divorced. The specifics of Alaska marriage license requirements are set forth below.
Alaska Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: Individuals who are 16 or 17 years old must submit a parental consent form in order to get married in Alaska. The one exception to this rule is that individuals under 18 who are on active duty in the U.S. military don’t have to obtain parental consent. Individuals younger than 16 are not allowed to marry in Alaska.
- Without Parental Consent: Any individual 18 years of age and older can get married in Alaska without parental consent.
Alaska Common Law Marriage
The state of Alaska does not recognize common law marriages.
Alaska Marriage License
- Residency: No Alaska residency requirements – non-residents may apply for a marriage license.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Parties must simply present a photo ID such as a driver’s license. For individuals under 18, additional documentation may be required. See the Marriage Consent Laws section above.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not permitted in Alaska. Both parties must be present to apply for the Alaska marriage license.
- Previous Marriages: Parties must disclose all prior marriage and divorce dates, but a certified divorce decree is required only if the last divorce occurred less than 60 days before the marriage license application.
- Length of License: An Alaska marriage license is valid for 3 months after its issuance. If a couple waits longer than 3 months, the license will be invalid and no refunds will be given.
- Fees: $25, payable by cash only.
- Filling Out the License/Submitting the License: There is a 3 day waiting period between the time of application for an Alaska marriage license and the time the parties can officially get married.
- Authorized Alaska Officiants: Any minister, priest, or rabbi may perform an Alaska marriage ceremony. The officiant must present a marriage certificate to the couple and to the state.