Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Wyoming marriage laws require that couples obtain a valid Wyoming marriage license before tying the knot. Age and consent requirements apply, as minors must obtain the consent of their parents and perhaps even a court order before getting a valid license. Divorced individuals also must provide certified documentation to prove that their divorce was finalized. A summary of Wyoming marriage laws is provided below.
Wyoming Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can obtain a Wyoming marriage license only by first getting written parental consent. Minors younger than 16 must also get a Wyoming court order.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can marry in Wyoming without parental consent.
Wyoming Common Law Marriage
Wyoming does not recognize common law marriages.
Wyoming Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Valid driver’s license or passport, and certified copy of birth certificate.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages available in Wyoming. Both parties must be present at the time of application, in addition to a witness who knows the couple.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals are required to present a certified copy of the divorce decree, while a regular copy of a death certificate may be sufficient. It’s a good idea to check with your county beforehand.
- Length of License: A Wyoming marriage license has no expiration date.
- Fees: $25, payable in cash only.
- Copies: Available for a small additional fee.
- Filling Out the License/Submitting the License: At least one witness who knows the couple must be present during the application process.
- Authorized Wyoming Officiants: Judges, magistrates, and any ordained minister.