What is traffic school? Would traffic school reduce my fine? Or the points on my license?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Some states have concluded that education offers the best avenue to reduce future traffic violations, and that an educated driver is a safer driver. As a result, those states allow people who are ticketed to plead guilty or “no content” to minor traffic offenses, pay the fine and then go to traffic school.

Traffic school is a 6 – 10 hour program of instruction on driving safety and traffic laws offered by a state authorized school. After successfully completing traffic school and submitting the proof of completion to the state DMV, the violation and the “points” are then removed from your driving record.

Typically the states allow attendance at traffic school to remove a violation from your driving record only once every 12 – 18 months, and only if it is a minor traffic violation.

As to whether traffic school will save you money or not, consider the fact that you will have to pay the fine, and perhaps also an added DMV fee, plus the traffic school’s fees, and spend about 6 – 10 hours of time to attend classes and/or self-study. Consider also the impact on your auto insurance rates if you do not have the points removed.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption