West Virginia DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for West Virginia DUI lawyers, West Virginia DUI laws, and what a West Virginia DUI attorney can do for you.

West Virginia DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

West Virginia DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

West Virginia DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced West Virginia DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a West Virginia DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

West Virginia DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment from 6 months to 1 year in jail.

Fine:  Range from $100 to $2,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 15 days to 45 days.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment from 6 months to 12 months.

Fine:  Range from $1,000 to $3,000.

License Revocation:  1 year.


Third Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment from 1 to 3 years in jail.  Classified as a felony.

Fine:  Range from $3,000 to $5,000.

License Revocation:  1 year.


West Virginia BAC Per Se: 0.08%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver Vehicle BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

West Virginia Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test, your license could be suspended from a year to life, depending on prior record.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption