Texas DWI Law – Lawyers, Attorneys, Convictions

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 14, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DWI charge in Texas is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Texas DWI lawyers and information about Texas BAC, DWI schools, DWI laws, DWI penalties and fines, DWI charges and the DMV, and what a DWI attorney can do for you.

Texas DUI Glossary of Terms

Texas DUI Insurance Consequences

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Texas DWI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Texas DWI Attorney JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Texas DWI Lawyer. No Cost. No Obligation.

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Texas DWI Convictions:


First Offense: 


Jail:  A minimum of 72 hours in jail, up to 180 days.

Fine:  Range from $2,000 to $10,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 90 days to 1 year.



Second Offense: 

Jail:  A minimum of 30 days in jail, up to 2 years.

Fine:  Range from $4,000 to $15,000.

License Revocation:  A minimum of 180 days, up to 2 years.

Ignition Interlock Devic (IID):  Mandatory installation of IID on your vehicle(s) at your expense. 



Third Offense:  

Jail:  A minimum of 2 years in jail, up to 10 years.

Fine:  Up to $10,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 180 days to 2 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  Mandatory installation of IID on your vehicle(s) at your expense.


Texas BAC Per Se: 0.08

High BAC: Texas law applies an annual surcharge of $2,000 for three years to anyone receiving a DWI conviction with a BAC level of .16 or higher.

BAC Zero Tolerance:  0.02%. Underage persons convicted of DWI face fines between $500 -$2,000, up to 180 days in jail, community service of 20-60 hours and suspension of license for 60-120 days.

Commercial Vehicle BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%


Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Texas has an implied consent law. You may refuse to take the test, but your drivers license will be confiscated and you will be issued a temporary driving drivers license pending your court hearing. 

More Texas DUI Information – Texas DUI Penalties, Fines, SentencingTexas DUI Statutes, ResourcesDo you need a DUI Lawyer?Post your Case to an Texas DUI Attorney. No Cost. No Obligation.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption