Oklahoma Child Support Collections and Fees
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
After a noncustodial (paying) parent has been assigned a support order in Oklahoma, any source of their income or earnings may be withheld for child support collection purposes. Your employer is allowed to charge a small fee as an administrative fee for each deduction made. If the noncustodial (paying) parent’s employment ends, the employer must notify the Oklahoma child support office of the termination and report the new employer, if known.
Income Subject to Withholding for Child Support Garnishment
When a noncustodial parent is assigned an order for support, he or she must consider any source of income as subject to income withholding. The definition of income, for Oklahoma purposes, includes wages, salary, winnings, commission, income received as an independent contractor, and interest, regardless of source; workers’ compensation, disability or retirement benefits, or any other payments due are considered as income as well.
Bonuses and Other Lump Sum Payments
While Oklahoma does not require employers to report lump-sum payments (i.e., bonuses, sick leave, commissions, severance pay) owed to employees who have child support income withholding orders, the state does encourage reporting. For more information, contact:
Phone: (405) 522-0607
Termination of Employment
If the employee’s job ends or the employee quits, wage withholding by the employer does not automatically stop. The employer has the duty to report the termination to the agency that sent the order/notice to withhold within 10 days of the termination. Upon termination, the following information is sent to the issuing agency: company name, employee name and last known home address, date of termination, and the new employer’s name and address, if known.
Reporting is also required if the employee retires. The employer follows the same process stated above, but also includes the name and address of the retirement plan administrator.
There are some administrative costs associated with income withholding on an employee’s wages. Oklahoma law allows an employer to charge a fee of up to $5 per withholding to each employee (not to exceed $10 per month) to cover those costs. The employer deducts this fee from the employee’s remaining income, not the support payment. Further, the employer must never deduct more than Oklahoma’s maximum withholding limits.
Penalty for Noncompliance
An employer that does not comply with an income withholding support order is liable for the total amount not withheld, plus a fine of up to $200 for each time it failed to withhold.
Oklahoma State Office of Child Support – Contact Information
Oklahoma Child Support Services
Child Support Enforcement Division
P.O. Box 53552
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
Phone: (405) 522-5871
Fax: (405) 533-3685