North Dakota Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

The state of North Dakota imposes various requirements on couples before a valid North Dakota marriage can take place. A marriage license is a must, and certain restrictions may apply for successfully getting one. For instance, minors must obtain parental consent before a North Dakota marriage license will be issued. The various North Dakota marriage laws are summarized below.


North Dakota Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must get parental consent, in the form of a notarized consent form, in order to marry in North Dakota. Minors younger than 16 cannot get a marriage license in North Dakota.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older need not obtain parental consent in order to marry in North Dakota.


North Dakota Common Law Marriage

North Dakota does not recognize common law marriages.


North Dakota Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Driver’s license or certified copy of birth certificate, plus social security card.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in North Dakota. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or regular copy of the death certificate when applying for the new marriage license.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of being issued.
  • Fees:  $65, payable in cash only.
  • Copies:  Certified copies available for $10.
  • Authorized North Dakota Officiants:  Justices of the peace and any ordained minister.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption