New Jersey Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Getting married in New Jersey requires obtaining a valid New Jersey marriage license. New Jersey marriage laws place restrictions on minors, and several other procedural requirements are in place for any adult wishing to be married. New Jersey does not recognize common law marriages. See below for the details on New Jersey marriage law.


New Jersey Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds may marry in New Jersey only with parental consent. Minors under 16 must get a court order in addition to parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older need not obtain parental consent to marry in New Jersey.


New Jersey Common Law Marriage

New Jersey does not recognize common law marriages.


New Jersey Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID such as a driver’s license or passport, and social security card. Certified copy of birth certificate is strongly suggested.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in New Jersey.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must present a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate, proving the end of the previous marriage.
  • Length of License:  30 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  $28.
  • Authorized New Jersey Officiants:  Judges, mayors, county clerks, and any ordained ministers.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption