New Hampshire Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

New Hampshire marriage laws require that couples obtain a valid marriage license from the state before the marriage can be performed. Minors and previously married individuals must meet additional requirements before the license can be issued. See below for more details on New Hampshire marriages.


New Hampshire Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Males between the ages of 14 and 17 and females between the ages of 13 and 17 can marry with parental consent and a judicial waiver. Males under 14 and females under 13 will not be issued a marriage license in New Hampshire under any circumstances.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can marry in New Hampshire without parental consent.


New Hampshire Common Law Marriage

New Hampshire does recognize common law marriages, but only posthumously, for estate and inheritance purposes. If a couple cohabitated for more than 3 years, holding themselves out to the public as husband and wife, then they will be considered to have been legally married in New Hampshire after one of them passes away.


New Hampshire Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirements.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID is required, and individuals under 25 should bring a certified copy of their birth certificate, for proof of age.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in New Hampshire. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate, proving the end of the marriage.
  • Length of License:  90 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  $45, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized New Hampshire Officiants:  Judges, ordained ministers, and justices of the peace.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption