Nevada DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Nevada DUI lawyers, Nevada DUI laws, and what a Nevada DUI attorney can do for you.

Nevada DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Nevada DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Nevada DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Nevada DUI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Nevada DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Nevada DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 2 days in jail, up to 6 months.

Fine:   $400 to $1,000.

License Revocation:   90 days.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order a person to install an IID on their vehicle at their expense for a restricted drivers license.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 10 days in jail, up to 6 months.

Fine:  $750 to $1,000.

License Revocation:   1 year.

Third Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 1 year in jail, up to 6 years.

Fine:  $2,000 to $5,000. 

License Revocation:  3 years.


Nevada BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.18 %

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Nevada Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test in Nevada, the police are authorized to use force to draw blood in order to analyze your blood alcohol content in order to use it as evidence in criminal proceedings.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption