Nebraska Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Nebraska marriage law provides that certain requirements be met in order to obtain a valid marriage license. Couples must obtain a valid license before their ceremony. Individuals under 19 years of age must get parental consent in order for a license to be issued, and in no event will Nebraska issue a marriage license to someone younger than 17. The details for obtaining a Nebraska marriage license are set forth below.


Nebraska Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 17 and 18 year olds must obtain parental consent to marry in Nebraska. No minor under 17 will be given a marriage license.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 19 and older may marry in Nebraska without obtaining parental consent.


Nebraska Common Law Marriage

Nebraska does not recognize common law marriages.


Nebraska Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID such as a driver’s license.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Nebraska. However, a couple can obtain a marriage license with only one party present.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide the dates that those marriages ended, but no certified copies are required.
  • Length of License:  1 year from the date of issuance.
  • Fees:  $15, payable in cash only.
  • Copies:  $5 per certified copy.
  • Authorized Nebraska Officiants:  Any ordained member of the clergy, judges, and clerk magistrates.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption