My son License were suspended and he was only 16 years of age. How could his License be suspended?

Get Legal Help Today

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

My son License were suspended and he was only 16 years of age. How could his License be suspended?

Well it was said that his License were suspended because the state blocked the license. The DMV said that he was suited by the other driver.the DMV didn’t say why. There was insurance on the car as well. My son wasn’t even issued a ticket for this accident.I just dont know why it happen.

Asked on May 18, 2009 under Accident Law, Louisiana


M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 14 years ago | Contributor

You don't have to receive a ticket to be at fault for a car accident;  the police report probably shows that your son was at fault therefore the lawsuit was filed against him.  Hopefully your insurance was in place and you are covered for this.

As to why the state suspended his license I can't say for sure, I would need more facts.  Possibly, however, the police report showed that your son was in violation of the terms of a restricted license.   Since he is 16 that is the license that would have been issued to him. 

In Louisiana the requirements to drive under a restricted licenes are as follows:

Applicants for the Class E Intermediate License must be a minimum of 16 years of age.  If the applicant is under the age of 17, they must have held a Class E Learners Permit for a minimum of 180 days prior to applying for the Class E Intermediate License.  The intermediate license restricts teen drivers under the age of 17 from driving between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older.  A licensed sibling 18 years of age or older is also acceptable during these time restrictions.

In addition to the passenger allowance of the licensed parent, legal guardian or licensed adult 21 years of age or older and immediate family members, the teen may also drive with a driver education teacher with their students as passengers.

If he was in violation of any of these requirements he would have been in violation of the law, hence suspension of his license.

Note:  If he was not in compliance with all of the above requirements, your insurance company could deny payment on any claims.  You, as parent of the minor child, would be held personally responsible.

Your best bet is to contact DMV directly and find out what they say the reason for the suspension was.  You may also want to consult with an attorney on your potential liability.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption