Mississippi Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Mississippi marriage laws mandate specific requirements before couples can get a valid marriage license to marry in the state. Unlike many states, the minimum age to be married in Mississippi without parental consent is 21, rather than 18. Also, certain blood tests are required. See below for details on the requirements for obtaining a valid Mississippi marriage license.


Mississippi Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Males between 17 and 20 and females between 15 and 20 must obtain parental consent. Males 16 and younger and females 14 and younger cannot marry in Mississippi unless their parents petition a judge for a waiver of the age requirements.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 21 and older do not need to obtain parental consent to be married in Mississippi.


Mississippi Common Law Marriage

Mississippi does not recognize common law marriages.


Mississippi Marriage License

  • Residency:  No Mississippi residency requirement.
  • Tests: Blood test for syphilis taken in the past 30 days prior to application.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID such as a driver’s license is required. Birth certificate and social security card are suggested as well.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in Mississippi.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide the date their previous marriage ended, and sign an affidavit stating that the marriage is over. Some counties may require individuals whose marriages ended in the last 6 months to provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate.
  • Length of License:  No expiration.
  • Fees:  $22, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Mississippi Officiants:  Any state judge, mayor, member of a local Board of Supervisors, and any member of the clergy.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption