Maine OUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A OUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Maine OUI lawyers, Maine OUI laws, and what a Maine OUI attorney can do for you.

Maine OUI/DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Maine OUI /DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Maine OUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Maine OUI Attorney at

Post your case to a Maine OUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Maine OUI Convictions:


First Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 96 hours.

Fine:  Up to $500.

License Revocation:  Up to 90 days.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 12 days. 

Fine:   Up to $800. 

License Revocation:   18 months.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order an IID be installed on your vehicle at your expense.


Third Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 40 days.

Fine:  Up to $1,300.

License Revocation:  Up to 4 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order an IID be installed on your vehicle at your expense.

Maine BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.00%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Maine Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes.  Under Maine’s Implied Consent Law, one automatically agrees to a chemical test (blood, breath, or urine) at any time authorities have probable cause to administer it. If a person refuses to take such a test for alcohol or drugs, their driver’s license will be immediately suspended. The suspension could be for a period of up to six years.  Moreover, testimony from the arresting officer regarding your driving performance can result in an OUI conviction even without the BAC test.  The minimum sentence for refusal to submit to a blood alcohol test is a $600 fine and four days in jail.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption