Louisiana DWI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Louisiana DWI lawyers, Louisiana DWI laws, and what a Louisiana DWI attorney can do for you.

Louisiana DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Louisiana DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Louisiana DWI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Louisiana DWI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Louisiana DWI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Louisiana DWI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 6 months in jail.

Fine:  $1,000.

License Revocation:  90 days.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  Minimum of 48 hours, up to 6 months.

Fine: $1,000.

License Revocation: 1 year.



Third Offense:  Classified as a felony offense. 

Jail:  Minimum of 45 days in jail, up to 5 years.  30 days of community service.

Fine:  $2,000.

License Revocation: 2 years.


Louisiana BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:   0.04%

Louisiana Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Upon first refusal of an alcohol test, your license can be suspended for up to six months.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption