Kentucky DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Kentucky DUI lawyers, Kentucky DUI laws, and what a Kentucky DUI attorney can do for you.


Kentucky DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Kentucky DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Kentucky DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Kentucky DUI Attorney at

Post your case to a Kentucky DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Kentucky DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Minimum of 2 days, up to 30 days in jail.  Also, 48 hours to 30 days of community service.

Fine: Range from $200 to $500.

License Revocation:  Range from 30 to 120 days.


Second Offense:  

Jail:  Minimum of 7 days, up to 6 months in jail.

Fine:  Range from $350 to $500.

License Revocation:   12 to 18 months.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order an IID be installed on the vehicle(s) at the defendant’s expense.


Third Offense: 

Jail:  Minimum of 30 days, up to 1 year in jail.

Fine:  $500 to $1,000.

License Revocation:  From 2 to 3 years.


Kentucky BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.20%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver Per Se BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Kentucky Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse to take an alcohol test, your license will automatically be suspended starting at 90 days for a first offense.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption