Iowa OWI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

An OWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Iowa OWI lawyers, Iowa OWI laws, and what an Iowa OWI attorney can do for you.

Iowa DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Iowa DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Iowa OWI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Iowa OWI Attorney at

Post your case to a Iowa OWI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Iowa OWI Convictions:

First OWI Conviction:

Imprisonment: Minimum of 48 hours in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine: $625 to $1,250.

License Revocation: 180 days.

Second OWI Conviction:

Imprisonment: Minimum of 7 days in jail, up to 2 years.

Fine: $1,875 to $6,250.

License Revocation: 2 years.

Third OWI Conviction: Results in a felony conviction. Minimum of 30 days in jail, up to 5 years.

Fine: $3,125 to $9,375.

License Revocation: 6 years.

Iowa BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Iowa Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse to take an alcohol test, your license will be revoked for one year and can only be reinstated if you install an ignition interlock device. The ignition device is for a temporary restricted license sought after 90 days and it is not needed after the 1 yr period.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption