Indiana DUI/OWI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

An OWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Indiana OWI lawyers, Indiana OWI laws, and what an Indiana OWI attorney can do for you.

Indiana DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms


Indiana DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:


What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?


How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?


Indiana DUI/OWI Lawyers:


Find an experienced Indiana OWI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal


Post your case to a Indiana OWI Lawyer


How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help


Indiana OWI Convictions:

First Offense:  Class C misdemeanor. 

Jail:  Minimum 30 days, up to 60 days. Up to 2 years of probation.

Fine:  Up to $500.

License Revocation:  Up to 2 years.  


Second Offense:   Class D felony. 

Jail:  Minimum 5 days, up to 3 years.  Up to 2 years of probation.

Fine:  Up to $10,000. 

License Revocation:   Minimum of 180 days up to 2 years.  


Indiana BAC Per Se: 0.08 %


High BAC: 0.15%


BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02 %


Commercial BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%


Indiana Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal to test for alcohol results in an automatic one year license suspension.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption