If I was married in on state, can I now file for a divorce in another state?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

If I was married in on state, can I now file for a divorce in another state?

Asked on November 17, 2011 under Family Law, Louisiana

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

I am so sorry for your situation.  The general rule everywhere is that you must file for divorce in the state in which you have legally resided for the minimum that is required by that state law.  It does not matter that you were not married in that state. Generally you have to be a resident of a state for about 6 months before you can file.  Some counties even further require a 6 month residency requirement.  You need to check on that because the residency requirement is how the court obtains what is known as jurisdiction to hear and determine the case.  Speak with an attorney in your area. Good luck.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption