Idaho DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Idaho DUI lawyers, Idaho DUI laws, and what a Idaho DUI attorney can do for you.

Idaho DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Idaho DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Idaho DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Idaho DUI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Idaho DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Idaho DUI Convictions:

First Offense:

Jail: Up to 6 months in jail. 

FineUp to $1,000.

License Suspension: 90 to 180 days.


Second Offense

Jail:  Mandatory 10 days in jail, up to a year.

Fine:  Up to $2,000.

License SuspensionMandatory minimum of 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device: An IID will be installed on your vehicle(s) at your expense after a one-year suspension.


Third OffenseFelony charge. 

Jail: Mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail, up to 5 years.

Fine: Up to $5,000.

License SuspensionMandatory minimum of 1 year suspension, up to 5 years.

Ignition Interlock Device:   An IID may be installed on your vehicle(s) at your expense one-year after suspension.


Idaho BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver Per Se BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Idaho Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal to take an alcohol test will result in automatic suspension of driving privileges for a minimum of 180 days unless a hearing is requested within 7 days.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption