how long do u have intill u can report a crime

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

how long do u have intill u can report a crime

Asked on May 12, 2009 under Criminal Law, California

Answers:

M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 12 years ago | Contributor

You can report a crime anytime.  However, after a certain period of time, no charges can be filed.  This time limit is known as the "Statute of Limitations".  There are different time limits depending on the crime.  For example a misdemeanor charge might be 1 year and a felony charge 5.  There is however no limitations period for murder.  Charges can be filed at any time.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption