Georgia Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Georgia marriage laws define the guidelines for obtaining a valid marriage license in Georgia. In addition to each of these requirements, minors wishing to be married must obtain the consent of their parents. Georgia does not recognize common law marriages, although common law marriages created before 1997 are still legally recognized. The details on Georgia marriage licenses are provided below.


Georgia Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Individuals must be at least 16 to obtain a valid Georgia marriage license. 16 and 17 year-olds must provide parental consent from both parents, in person.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older do not need parental consent to be married in Georgia.


Georgia Common Law Marriage

Georgia does not recognize new common law marriages. However, any common law marriages created before 1997 are still recognized.


Georgia Marriage License

  • Residency:  There is no residency requirement to obtain a Georgia marriage license. If either party is a Georgia resident, the license can be issued in any Georgia county.
  • Tests: Blood tests no longer required in Georgia.
  • Identification Required:  Couples must present two valid forms of identification, including driver’s license, birth certificate, passport, or military ID.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Georgia
  • Previous Marriages:  If either party was divorced in the last 6 months, a certified copy of the divorce decree must be provided. Also, some counties may require a certified copy of the divorce decree no matter how long ago it occurred, so it’s a good idea to call ahead to check with your county, or just bring a certified copy to be sure.
  • Fees:  Fees vary depending on whether the couple completed a qualified premarital education program. In general, the fee can range from $26 to $61 dollars.
  • Authorized Georgia Officiants:  Georgia officiants include licensed or ordained ministers, members of the clergy, pastors, and justices of the peace.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption