Florida Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Florida marriage laws require that couples follow the guidelines set forth below for obtaining a valid marriage license. While there is no residency requirement, there are waiting periods that may apply depending on your residency status, as well as whether you have taken the Florida premarital preparation course. Individuals under 18 who wish to marry must also obtain parental consent in Florida.


Florida Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Minors 16 and 17 years old can marry in Florida, but need parental consent. Minors under 16 must get the approval of a judge – a county judge must issue the marriage license regardless of parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Individuals 18 and older may marry in Florida without consent of a parent.


Florida Common Law Marriage

Florida does not allow common law marriages.


Florida Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement for a Florida marriage license.
  • Identification Required:  Couples must present valid picture ID such as a driver’s license or passport, as well as a social security card.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  There is no marriage by proxy in Florida.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide the date of divorce or death of an ex-spouse. If the event occurred within the last 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate must also be provided.
  • Length of License:  Once issued, the license is valid for 60 days in Florida.
  • Fees:  $93.50, with a discount available to couples who have completed the Florida premarital preparation class beforehand.
  • Filling Out the License/Submitting the License:  Both parties must be present at the time of application for the marriage license. There is generally a 3 day waiting period for Florida residents for the license to issue after application, but residents who have completed the state-sanctioned marriage prep course within the last 12 months do not have to wait. Also, the waiting period does not apply to non-residents.
  • Authorized Florida Officiants:  Florida judges and ordained ministers.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption