Florida DUI FAQ: A Legal Expert’s Answers

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Florida’s DUI (driving while under the influence) laws are complex. To provide answers to some frequently asked questions (FAQ), we contacted William D. Umansky, a Florida attorney with over 15 years of experience whose practice focuses in the areas of personal injury and criminal defense.

Q: What happens when you refuse a breath test in Florida?

A: In Florida, it’s a crime if you refuse to take a breath test twice. So, you can get arrested for a second crime along with the DUI if you refuse to take the breath test and you refused to take one in the past. Driver’s license suspension periods for first refusals are one year; second or subsequent refusals are 18 months. If you have a commercial driver’s license, your first refusal means that you can’t drive for one year. If you have a second refusal in a commercial motor vehicle, you are not allowed to have a commercial driver’s license anymore.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Q: Is community service mandatory for a DUI conviction in Florida?

A: Community service is not mandatory except on a first conviction and you have to do 50 hours at a minimum if you are convicted. It’s interesting because the state does not have mandatory community service beyond a first DUI, but often times, community service is requested on subsequent DUIs. However, it is at the option of the prosecutor and is not mandatory.

Q: When must you enroll in Florida DUI school?

A: You must enroll in, and sometimes complete, DUI school before you get a hardship license. If you have a second conviction in five years or a third conviction in ten years, you must complete DUI school following your conviction. Usually, first offenders will enroll in a DUI school that’s 12 hours, unless they had a prior DUI, then it’s 24 hours of school. In both situations, a psychosocial evaluation will be used to determine whether you have a drug or alcohol problem. If you do, treatment can last six weeks or up to a year in many cases.

Q: Does Florida recognize mandatory adjudications?

A: There are mandatory adjudications for DUI in Florida and judges are prohibited from withholding adjudication. So, if you plead to a DUI, you must be convicted and the judge is also prohibited from reducing a DUI charge to a lesser DUI if your blood alcohol level was .15 or greater. The prosecutor can reduce it and in many cases if you hire a lawyer that can negotiate with the state, the state will reduce it to under a .15 to resolve the case, thereby saving you money and enhanced penalties in many cases.

If you have a DUI issue, contact an experienced DUI attorney to discuss your situation and evaluate your options. Consultations are free, without obligation and are strictly confidential.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption