dui an open contianer

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

dui an open contianer

will a first time offender whos a single mother of 2 spend time in jail for dui an open cointaner? will she need a lawyer?

Asked on April 28, 2009 under Criminal Law, California

Answers:

N. K., Member, Iowa and Illinois Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 12 years ago | Contributor

If convicted of misdemeanor DUI(first offense), the punishment is imprisonment in county jail for not less than 96 hours and no more than 6 months.

If convicted of felony DUI(first offense), then imprisonment is for a minimum of 90 days and no more than 1 year.

There are other penalties as well, including fines and suspension of her driver's license. She may want to hire an attorney experienced with defending DUI's.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption