Delaware Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

The state of Delaware has specific requirements for obtaining a marriage license. Couples need not be residents of the state, but must wait 4 days following the application for the marriage license to be issued. Furthermore, minors must get the consent of their parents. The exact requirements for obtaining a Delaware are set forth below.


Delaware Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Any individual under 18 must provide a signed parental consent form, which can be obtained at the Delaware Clerk of the Peace office.
  • Without Parental Consent: Individuals 18 years of age and older can get married in Delaware without parental consent.


Delaware Common Law Marriage

Delaware does not recognize common law marriages.


Delaware Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement for obtaining a Delaware marriage license, but there is a 4-day waiting period for non-residents after applying.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Couples must provide simple photo identification or a birth certificate, as well as social security number.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Delaware.
  • Previous Marriages:  Any individual previously married must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate of a deceased spouse.
  • Length of License:  A Delaware marriage license is valid for 30 days after issuance.
  • Fees:  $35, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Delaware Officiants:  Officiants in Delaware include any Delaware Clerk of the Peace and any ordained minister. Ministers must keep a copy of the marriage license for one year and provide the required forms to a Clerk of the Peace within 4 days of the marriage ceremony.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption