Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Connecticut landlords must go through the eviction process before they can kick out a tenant. Though a tenant may be destructive or unreasonable, it is illegal for a landlord to lock the tenant out or turn off utilities to force the tenant to leave. A Connecticut landlord must always follow the law or risk having his or her eviction suit dismissed.
Available Connecticut Termination Notices
In Connecticut, landlords must give tenants notice that their tenancy is being terminated before the landlord may file an eviction action against the tenant. The same notice is used for all Connecticut fixed-term lease evictions and it is a Notice to Quit. This notice will state the reasons for the termination (e.g. failure to pay rent or breach of the lease). Once the tenant receives the notice, he or she will have 3 full days to move out. If the tenant fails to leave, the landlord can then file the eviction action.
If the tenancy is month-to-month, the notice cannot be served until 10 days after the rent became due. If it is week-to-week, the notice cannot be served until 5 days after the rent became due. See the Connecticut landlord eviction handbook for more information. You can also find forms available on the Connecticut courts website (see “Getting Help” below).
In Connecticut, evictions are handled in a special court called the housing sessions. Evictions must be filed at the housing session court where the property is located. Find your local housing session court at the Connecticut courts website. You can also use the website to find standard eviction forms. While filling out forms may seem like the cleanest and quickest manner of getting rid of an unwanted tenant, reality does not always turn out as planned. If you are unsure of the termination and/or eviction process at any point, you may find it best to hire an experienced Connecticut landlord tenant attorney. You can also refer to Questions to Ask Your Connecticut Evictions Lawyer below when speaking with an attorney.
Self-Help Evictions in Connecticut
Locking out your tenant in Connecticut is a criminal offense. You may be guilty of a misdemeanor if you do so. In addition, the tenant may be able to sue you in civil court for double his or her damages (Connecticut Gen. Stat.’ 47a-43).
Questions to Ask Your Connecticut Evictions Lawyer
- How many evictions cases have you handled?
- How many were successful/unsuccessful?
- How long will the eviction process take?
- For tenants: How long do I have before I MUST move out?
- For landlords: Will I be able to get a judgment for back rent for the amount of time the tenant has been living in the rental property illegally?
- What do you charge?
- For landlords: If I hire you, will I be subject to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA)?