Can I charge a tenant for a 3-day notice?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Can I charge a tenant for a 3-day notice?

I paid $70 to serve them.

Asked on August 16, 2011 California

Answers:

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

To answer your question, you need to carefully read your written lease with your tenant in that its terms set forth the obligations owed you by the tenant and vice versa in the absence of conflicting California law. If the lease allows such a charge for service of the 3 day notice to pay or quit, you can charge the tenant such in the future.

If the lease is silent on the charge for its service, I would still charge the tenant the $70.00 service fee since had the tenant been current on the rent, you would not have had to incur the cost for the 3 day notice to pay or quit.

Under California law, you as the landlord are allowed to serve such notices yourself. You do not need a process server.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption