Arkansas DWI Lawyers, Penalty, Fines, & Convictions

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 14, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Arkansas DWI lawyers, Arkansas DWI laws, and what an Arkansas DWI attorney can do for you.

Arkansas DWI Glossary of Terms

Arkansas DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Arkansas DWI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Arkansas DWI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Arkansas DWI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Arkansas DWI Convictions:

Automatic license suspension when arrested for a BAC of .08 or greater.

First offense, BAC between .08 and .15: 120-day suspension

First offense, BAC >.15: 180-day suspension

First offense, ingestion of a controlled substance (other drugs): 6-month suspension

Second offense with five years of first, BAC >.08: 24-month suspension

Third offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: 30-month suspension

Fourth or subsequent offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: 4-year suspension

Anytime your license is revoked for a DUI, you must complete an alcohol education course.

Jail Time (potential- there are exceptions)

First offense, BAC >.08: 24-hours to 1 year

Second offense with five years of first, BAC >.08: 7-days to 1 year

Third offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: 90-days to 1 year

Fourth offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: 1 year to 6 years

Fifth or subsequent offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: 2 years to 10 years, courts as a felony.

Enhanced penalty: A DUI arrest with a passenger under the age of 16 (unless within 2 years of the motor-vehicle driver’s age) while in the vehicle will lead to an enhanced penalty.

Arkansas BAC Per Se: 0.08 %

High BAC: 0.15 %

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02 %

Commercial Driver Per Se BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Arkansas Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Driving privileges are revoked upon refusal to take an alcohol test.


First offense, BAC >.08: $150-1000

Second offense with five years of first, BAC >.08: $400-3000

Third or subsequent offense within five years of first, BAC >.08: $900-5000

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption