State Minimum Liability Coverage Chart

Free Insurance Quote Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

When you get your car insured, your state sets a minimum amount of liability coverage that you are required to have. The minimum coverage is designed to protect other drivers from damages that you cause by forcing you to carry an insurance policy that will pay for injuries or damages.

The chart below will show you what your liability coverage is depending on your state:

  • Minimum Liability Coverage: Represented below in a series of three numbers separated by dashes that show your liability coverage. The first number represents how much your insurance will pay for injuries per person, while the second number represents the total amount your insurance company will pay for injuries per accident regardless of how many people are injured. The last number is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for damages per accident. All numbers are in the thousands of dollars so a coverage limit written as 25/50/10 means: $25,000 per person, max of $50,000 per accident in injuries, and a max of $10,000 in damages to property.
  • No Fault State: If you live in no fault state, your own insurance policy will pay for your injuries and damages. This may mean that you will want increased coverage beyond the state minimum requirements.
  • Minimum PIP Required: Some states require you to have a minimum amount of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage for injuries to you and your passengers. If your state does require this, be sure to ask what level you need before you purchase a policy.
  • Uninsured Motorist Protection: Some states will require to get uninsured motorist protection in your policy. If your state requires this coverage, you need to add it to your policy when you purchase one.

When you purchase an auto insurance policy, you will need make sure that you satisfy the minimum coverage requirements in your state. Ask your insurance company or agent about the minimum requirements when you purchase car insurance so you will know what to expect from your policy.

State Minimum Liability No Fault State? Minimum PIP Required? Uninsured Motorist Required?
Alabama 20/40/10 No No No
Alaska 50/100/25 No No No
Arizona 15/30/10 No No No
Arkansas 25/50/25 No No No
California 15/30/5 No No No
Colorado 25/50/15 Yes Yes No
Connecticut 20/40/10 No No Yes
Delaware 15/30/5 No Yes No
Florida 10/20/10 Yes Yes No
Georgia 25/50/25 No No No
Hawaii 20/40/10 Yes Yes No
Idaho 25/50/15 No No No
Illinois 20/40/15 No No Yes
Indiana 25/50/10 No No No
Iowa 20/40/15 No No No
Kansas 25/50/10 Yes Yes Yes
Kentucky 25/50/10 Yes Yes No
Louisiana 10/20/10 No No No
Maine 50/100/25 No No Yes
Maryland 20/40/15 No Yes Yes
Massachusetts 20/40/5 Yes Yes Yes
Michigan 20/40/10 Yes Yes No
Minnesota 30/60/10 Yes Yes Yes
Mississippi 10/20/5 No No No
Missouri 25/50/10 No No Yes
Montana 25/50/10 No No No
Nebraska 25/50/25 No No No
Nevada 15/30/10 No No No
New Hampshire 25/50/25 No No Yes
New Jersey 15/30/5 Yes Yes Yes
New Mexico 25/50/10 No No No
New York 25/50/10 Yes Yes Yes
North Carolina 30/60/25 No No No
North Dakota 25/50/25 Yes Yes Yes
Ohio 12.5/25/7.5 No No No
Oklahoma 10/20/10 No No No
Oregon 25/50/10 No Yes Yes
Pennsylvania 15/30/5 Yes No No
Rhode Island 25/50/25 No No Yes
South Carolina 15/30/10 No No Yes
South Dakota 25/50/25 No No Yes
Tennessee 25/50/10 No No No
Texas 20/40/15 No No No
Utah 25/50/15 Yes Yes No
Vermont 25/50/10 No No Yes
Virginia 25/50/20 No No Yes
Washington 25/50/10 No No No
Washington D.C. 25/50/10 No No Yes
West Virginia 20/40/10 No No Yes
Wisconsin 25/50/10 No No Yes
Wyoming 25/50/20 No No No

Free Insurance Quote Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to compare cheap insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption